1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Rickenbacker or Musicman Stingray?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Richenbacher, Jan 10, 2012.

1. I'm seriously stumped. I'm a high school student, but I'm starting to get involved in bands who are playing gigs and would like me to play bass. I'm nearly grade 7 and I'm playing on my first ever bass, a Yamaha ERB070, so I plan to save up money for a new, professional bass and get proper gear, amps etc.
    I absolutely love the look of a Ric 4003 but have no idea what one sounds like.
    But I also like the look of a stingray, and my bass tutor told me it's "twice the bass"
    (his words, not mine.)
    Any advice? Reviews on gig performance? Any response would be helpful :) thanks

2. Get a Squier CV Jazz Bass.

3. SwagAttack

SwagAttack

Sep 14, 2011
    Bay Area, CA
    Between those two, the Stringray would be my choice. Definitely try it first, for some people it is a love/hate relationship, but I think they are awesome and can be tamed if need be. But if you are looking at that price, there are some other basses than could be looked at too.

4. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2011
    charles town, wv
    For info on Rickenbackers, use the search function. They have been discussed adnauseum, with many old and ongoing threads.

As to whether it's the right bass for you - you need to try it; although it's important to like your bass, there are more important considerations than look - like feel and sound.