1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Rig for small jazz gigs?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by ruizmauricio03, Mar 9, 2019.

1. ruizmauricio03

ruizmauricio03

Mar 9, 2019
    I was wondering what's your current rig for jazz gigs, talking about your bass, amp, gigbag, if you use sheet music stand or even some pedals. I'm relatively new in this area, ive been playing with a latin jazz quintet for a couple months and wanted to know any suggestions and experiencies.

Bless!

Stumbo likes this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    Seems like your post should be in the DB section.:thumbsup:

3. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011

Not necessarily. I used to do lot's of jazz gigs with my Yamaha TRB6P. Basically cocktails and dinner music rather than feature shows. Also, I have seen plenty of live jazz shows with electric bass.

I used a GK 700RB/112 combo. This amp is heavy by today's standards, but it tilts back and rolls like airport luggage. I had a garment back for my tux; gig bag for the bass; and a zippered canvas bag for chords, books, stands, accessories. Basically one trip from the car.

The little GK wasn't loud enough when we did dances that featured pop music, so a second trip to the car was required for an extension speaker.

4. GrapeBass

GrapeBass

Jun 10, 2004
    Toronto
    Graphic designer: Yorkville Sound