1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Rounds On A P-Bass

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Ron G, Aug 2, 2012.

1. Ron G

Ron G

Mar 16, 2009
    Portsmouth, VA
    Last month I put rounds on one my basses I didn't play it a lot, well the other day I started playing it again and did it sound funny I adjusted my amp (Eq and style switch) with no luck looked down rounds. I must say back to flats.

2. steamthief

steamthief

Jan 25, 2006
    Mentone Beach
    Rounds shine on a P in a band setting, I love a set of Roto 66 on my P/J. It's great that we have choices.

3. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    I love rounds on a P, much more than flats actually.

4. kesh

kesh

Jul 9, 2012
    Brighton, England
    I use chromes on a PJ, kind of best of both worlds.

5. punkjazzben

punkjazzben

Jun 26, 2008
    Australia
    Can relate to the OP's sentiments.

I've had a set of flats on my Precision since I bought it (La Bellas) and it's been exactly what I'm looking for in a P-Bass tone. Swapped them onto my CV 50s P-Bass to see how it went, and now that bass sounds even more amazing.

But, I now really don't like the sound of my other Precision with rounds on. The overtones swamp the fundamental it sounds so thin and harsh. I'm fine with rounds (Foderas) on my Warwick, but the Precision just sounds...... cheap. No 'oompf' at all, as if the fundamental has been dialed out.

6. bassie12

bassie12

Aug 23, 2008
    Flats for thump, rounds for grind. All good!

7. Ron G

Ron G

Mar 16, 2009
    Portsmouth, VA
    I have rounds on my jazz and pj, thats why put them on my P.

8. I've used Flats and rounds, and Rounds just give more of the P-bass sound to me...