Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

router questions

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by g00eY, Feb 11, 2006.

1. g00eY

g00eY

Sep 17, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    i'm a noob, so i will ask noob questions.

a router is the thing that you use to make cavities for pickups and etc..., right? if so... is there anything else i can use instead of a router to make neck pockets and cavities? i don't feel like buying a router :meh: .

2. Hookus

Hookus

Oct 2, 2005
    Austin, TX
    If you don't feel like buying a router, you won't feel like doing the alternative, which is a mallet and chisel. Use a forstner bit to hog out the cavithy, then use the chisel to square it up like a mortise. Make sure you learn how to chisel mortises correctly, or you will end up with horrid looking cavities, and make sure you learn how to properly sharpen and care for chisels. You will need to buy a set, since you want to use the widest chisel for a given application, and all said and done, a good chisel set and forstner bit set will cost more that a router.

3. g00eY

g00eY

Sep 17, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    it's more that i don't have money to buy a router. if i had the money i would have every single tool that would make building a bass easier.

i have a question about drill presses. i have one of those noob ones that holds a hand held power drill. will that work the same?

4. JSPguitars

JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley
    might not have the same 'torque' or HP.....but it might do the trick on some woods. If you're using really hard wood, like bloodwood or something, then your drill might not be happy.

Shop around for used tools. Sometimes you can pick up an old router for cheap at garage sales/flea markets, etc. I think a router is pretty darn essential.

5. g00eY

g00eY

Sep 17, 2005
    Chicago, IL