1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Running Distortion - Amp Risks

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DopplerShift, Apr 8, 2006.

1. DopplerShift

DopplerShift

Apr 19, 2005
    Chicago Area
    I did an hour long search on running distortion and its effects on amplifiers and only dug up a few applicable threads.

It seems that running a disortion pedal can be dangerous mainly to your cabinet's tweeter except for the FX loop inputs which sounded like it could be damaging to your amp head. I'm no expert so correct me if I'm wrong.

I have a russian Big Muff Pi and plan on running My EBMM Stingray through an Eden WT600 bridged (600w->8ohms)Avatar Neo 210 (8ohm/600w). Sometimes I will use an Avatar BH115 Kappa Pro (4ohm/600w) and run the head in stereo (2x300w->8ohm/4ohm). I do use my tweeters.

Can anybody give me any advice on the risks of this setup? If I ever NEED to (which I most likely will not), do you think I can go past 12 o clock, esp in the bridged mode? What sorts of things should I look out for? Thanks.

2. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    I have not had problems running gut wrenching distortion at high volumes through my Bergie 210 which has a tweeter.

3. nad

nad 60 Cycle Humdinger Commercial User

Sep 22, 2005
    Not Mars
    The Overlord of Nordstrand Pickups
    Never had an issue. Ever. There's a huge difference between clipping a head or a speaker, and running a clipped effect with controlled volume.

Case in point, if you listen to as much rock and metal as I do, maybe you'll have about 100,000+ hours of distorted guitars running through perfectly fine 12 year old bookshelf stereo speakers as well. :D

4. joelb79

joelb79

Mar 22, 2006
    Lansing, Michigan