Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Santi Debriano

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by Andy Allen, Mar 4, 2006.

1. Andy Allen

Andy Allen "Working Bassist"

Aug 31, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've been enjoying Santi Debriano's CD 'Circlechant' since first hearing it on KJAZZ radio aweek or so ago.

As someone who regularly plays Latin Jazz it is good to hear someone playing DB with such a distinct Latin flavour.

Details from AMG here: http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?...A099FC9E457FDD6633D2DFC93&sql=10:tb1uak2kkm3m

On searching this forum, I found that he hadn't been discussed before, so have at it! :smug:

2. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    I am currently studying with Santi. He's a wonderful player and human being. I got him to join this site about a month ago but I don't think he's posted anything yet.

3. Andy Allen

Aug 31, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    That's great - you really took the TBDB "Get a Teacher" mantra to heart. :D

It's always good to find out that someone who is making fine music is a fine person too - when you see him next thank him for me for the enjoyment he's given me through his playing.

4. Freddels

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    I will. How I started taking lessons from him was one day I was listening to the local jazz station and they had a live band in the studio. The singer was talking about this bass player (he hadn't shown up yet) and how great he was. Then they started playing (jazz) and I listened to him playing and thought "Wow" what a great player. I would like to take lessons from him someday. I couldn't remember his name but did some searching on the internet and found that he was teaching in MA, so I found his email address and contacted him. My playing has definitely improved. :D

5. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001