1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sell or donate?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Axtman, Jan 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Axtman

Axtman Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2008
    Seattle, Washington
    Long story short.

I'm new to double bass and bought a very cheap Chinese Cremona SB-1 upright of Craigslist for $550. So far I have spend $900 on repairs, new strings, bridge, etc. The recent luthier I took it to, David Goad (David Goad Violins), said not to dump any more money into it and get a better bass. I am on the hunt for a better bass but am curious about what I should do with the one I have. It has obvious repairs and still needs work so I would feel badly about taking much money for the bass. On the other hand a friend is a music teacher at a school and she might welcome the instrument donation.

What would you do? Thanks!

2. Tom Lane

Tom Lane Gold Supporting Member

Donate it. It's probably not the easiest playable instrument and will self-destruct sooner than later, but maybe a kid will be inspired to pick up the double bass.

3. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    Having donated several higher end instruments over the past few years, I would also say donate. Ask your luthier for and informal evaluation of the instrument ($900) and you can use that for tax purposes, where's you'd probably sell it for half. BUT... MORE IMPORTANT.... the satisfaction I've gotten seeing instruments used in youth orchestras and college programs that really needed them - and gave young musicians a chance to play a quality instrument was (as they say on TV) priceless.

This instrument, in a middle school orchestra etc, will make a huge difference to some student
    Louis

4. Detonate and post video.

Ok, seriously...what Louis said, to the letter.

5. Axtman

Axtman Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2008
    Seattle, Washington