1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Short pinky compared to other fingers

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ozblod, Apr 3, 2013.

1. ozblod

ozblod

Apr 1, 2013
    I've been reading these forums for a while now, but this is my first post here on TB, so, hi everybody!

I am a beginner bassist but I think I'm learning the basics kind of quickly because I knew a little about theory and played drums for 5 years.

What I'd like to ask you, though, are my fingers unfit for playing electric bass? I have like stubby fingers but this isn't the part that really bothers me. It's that I have very short pinky compared to other fingers and it gives me hard time above certain frets, when trying to reach minor 3rd or playing anything on E and A strings, especially E, of course.. Anyone has the same problem or have something to say about? Because so far I really enjoying playing bass. I am worried about how much this will hold me back because eventually I want to be able to play all kinds of stuff, technically difficult ones,too.

Some pictures of it attached, it is even looking worse on higher frets. Looking forward to hear from you.

Attached Files:

2. fraublugher

fraublugher

Nov 19, 2004
    ottawa, ontario, canada
    music school retailer
    No , short pinkies are normal , nice "spider" in pic 2 btw.

Alternatively you could finger the root with pinky and min 3 with your first finger on the next string.

3. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany