1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should I Get A new Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by blackhawk9813, Aug 23, 2012.

1. blackhawk9813

blackhawk9813

Aug 18, 2012
    I need help figuring out whether or not I should be looking for a better quality bass. I currently own a "Slammer" Hamer Impact Bass which somewhat resembles a Musicman Stingray. I've Had it for several years, I got it at around $130 USD at a local music store and it plays pretty well for a starter/practice bass. I also have a Jay Turser Beatle Bass that I love. I got it at roughly $250 USD for Christmas. It sounds great and is fun to play. Considering I'm still pretty new at bass, I don't want anything that's too incredibly expensive. I generally like to play alot Alternative Rock and Grunge music. I know that preference has a lot to do with it but if someone could point me in the direction of a nice bass it would be great.

P.S
    Like I said earlier I'm new at bass so if I said something stupid here than don't hold it against me. This is also my first post

2. Sounds like your basses are all right, as long as they're set up well. Unless you're just wanting to get a new bass, and in that case there's no problem with that. What are you using for an amp? A good amp can make a bigger difference in your tone than a new bass.

3. Wallace320

Wallace320 Commercial User

Mar 19, 2012
    Milan, Italy
    Anyway:
    Think eventually about an Epiphone reverse Thunderbird PRO

Reliable mahogany setneck bass with a 2 band equalizer and a proficient HiMass bridge, available on the PRO model only, capable of one of the longest (budget) sustain there is!

Cheers,
    Wallace

4. curbowkid

curbowkid Guest

Jun 27, 2011
    Brooklyn, New York
    Welcome to the fun.