Sight reading

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Zerozeddy, Jan 5, 2005.

1. Best book for teaching oneself to read dots? (Without playing Michael Row the Boat Ashore, as I've been playing for 20 years and aren't that bad, just always relied on ear).
  2. I've benn using this book with my teacher for the past 4 months or so. it is an excellent book. it starts off very basic using whole notes or half notes then gets more complicted as it goes on. very good choice of book to learn from.
  3. Are you talking about reading notes or rythms?
    As far as reading notes go,use anything that uses a wide range of notes.
    As far as reading rythms,"Modern Reading Text In 4/4"by Louis Bellson,is an indespensible book.He also wrote "Odd Time Reading Text"when you want to work outside of 4/4.
  4. Ideal, thank you very much.
  5. FenderHotRod

Sep 1, 2004
  6. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I highly suggest this book myself. After you've spent some time with it, and have a basic understanding of the things, there are some great books you can get to further your sight reading abilities.

For songs, I suggest finding a "Real Book" in bass clef. Should be about $40, but well worth it.

For etudes and basic drills, there are a couple of different and great books to really help you along. Rufus Reid's "Evolving Bassist", Simandl's method 1, or "Arban's Conservatory for Trombone."
  7. td1368

Jan 9, 2001

When I first took lessons 15 years ago my instructer made me get this book and I' m still working on it. Ugggh now that I read that maybe I need to work on it a little harder.