1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

singer that cant sing

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by DoubleD, Oct 14, 2009.

1. DoubleD

DoubleD

Jul 23, 2009
    Southern Indiana
    I started playing bass a few months ago. I had wanted to learn an instrument and mentioned it to a couple of my friends who heavily encouraged me. One of them took me shopping and really got me going with it. He and I started jamming together about once or twice a week. He started showing me some things and teaching me some songs. It was a lot of fun. He's a phenominal guitarist - played for 20 years and can play anything. Great musician. Great friend.

Eventually the 2nd friend finally started playing with us one night and we had a real good time. I was having trouble knowing when to switch chords, and the songs needed vocals, so we needed someone to sing. Well, "friend 2" jumped in with "i've got a mic and i can sing." (shortened version)

So, the 3 of us played together the following week, friend 2sang and it went real well. We played against a drum machine. He wasn't the best singer, but it kept our place in the songs and it just was a lot of fun (I figured he'd get better too). Then we decided we needed a drummer. I found us one (related) and the following week, he jammed with us. He's an amazing drummer. Everything clicked that first night. It was just so much fun. We decided we would start a band, picked a name, and have been practicing about once a week for the past 3 months. We just play covers right now, but as I improve and we play more we'll start doing our own stuff. We've been thinking about the future when we'll do bars and such. We've all got day jobs, this is just for fun, but we take it seriously.