1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Software upgrade time (should I jump ship?).. what would you do?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by patrickj, Feb 21, 2019.

1. Studio One 4 Pro

3 vote(s)
    37.5%
  2. Reaper + Komplete + Melodyne

3 vote(s)
    37.5%
  3. Something else I haven't considered..

2 vote(s)
    25.0%
  1. patrickj

patrickj

Aug 13, 2001
    Ellicott City, MD
    Endorsing: Spector Bass Guitars
    I really only run Reaper. I don't have a love affair with it, but it works fairly well for what I tend to do. I'm not an engineer type tho and I have gotten extremely frustrated at times when something doesn't seem intuitive.

[I also have licenses for Samplitude Pro X and Samp Music Studio, but meh, I just don't connect with them anymore. Buggy, crash a fair bit, they all just feel a bit long in the tooth if that makes sense.]

I do most of my writing on my ipad with garageband. Love the sounds, love the amp sims, love the drum samples, the process just works great for me. When I'm ready to take my ideas from the small screen to my studio setup, things fall apart. I just don't have 'enough' yet.

My important regularly used plugins: Steven Slate Drums, Magix Vandal, Bias Amp, Peavey Revalver, as well as a bunch of freebie VSTs.

I don't have any samplers, I don't have any of those 'get the creative juices flowing' type of plugins or resources and I really wish I did. The Samplitudes come with the Independence library (~12GB) which is pretty nice, but it's tied to Samplitude. Game over.

AFAICT, I have two paths to take, both ending up around $300.. which would you do?