Soldering but dont know which wire is it

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by TOOL460002, Dec 13, 2015.

1. TOOL460002

TOOL460002

Nov 4, 2004
    Santa Cruz
    Okay, so I am using a Cioks cable, keeping the RCA connector part and removing the other end to put a female 2.1mm barrel jack instead of the stock male plug. I have one very good reason or need.

One wire is black and one is white. I don't know which to solder to which and can't test aside from on a pedal. If I'm wrong, it will be center positive. If correct, center negative.

Any idea how to be sure? I don't have good testing equipment, or I could see what direction the flow was and get the polarity that way. Now I'm shooting 50/50. Might just try it on a pedal I dont use and can't sell due to modifications.

Sorry im new at this. All help is good. I have no clue. Thanks and have a good football sunday all! Go raiders! (No chance...)

2. Mike_D

Mike_D

Sep 17, 2013
    If you are serious enough about doing this type of thing to own a soldering iron, you should go ahead and get a multi-tester. They can be had pretty cheap and are invaluable when you need them. With a volt meter you can verify correct voltage and polarity of the completed cable prior to plugging it into your pedal which is worth a lot to me. Without a volt-meter you will need a continuity tester and the spec's of the power supply together to work out the desired result. A continuity tester is something that you can just build with stuff laying around.

To work this out, you need two pieces of information: polarity of the RCA connection to the supply and color code of the wire to the RCA connector on the cable. If you look at the manual for the power supply (or possibly stenciled on the case) you should be able to find out whether the tip or ring of the RCA connector is negative. Once you know which portion of the RCA connector is negative then you need to figure out whether that corresponds to the black or white wire.