Speakon wiring question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by johnm0187, Dec 23, 2004.

1. Ok. I have a QSC RMX 1450 and I will be bridging the amp, so I need +2/+1 wired speakon cables. I got 2 speakon-> 1/4" when I bought the amp, but obviously I won't be using both. I'm almost positive they are both +1/-1, but I'm just making a guess. I did a search and a bunch of posts say something like "to rewire it all you need is an allen key. It's pretty easy." Well how in the hell do you reqire all this? So my 2 real questions are:

1) How can you tell what the speakon is wired to?

2)How do you go by rewiring the speakon? (I need easy to read steps here, I'm not good with electronics or reading)

2. uglybassplayer

Aug 24, 2001
    New Jersey
  3. No offense, but I don't understand that at all. It seems they are just showing how to put it together. I don't really understand all the +2,+1 crap either, so I'd really like if someone just explained this like they would to a 5 year old (I'm really not 5 years old). All the electronic stuff messes with my mind. I suck.
  4. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    There are a number of different Speakon connectors...the number of contacts is shown in the model number.

The amp will have 4 conductor jacks. Neutrik makes a 2 conductor version (same size) of both the jack and plug...

The contact numbers are molded into the plastic insulator that surrounds the wiring terminals. The four terminal plug will have terminals identified as 1+, 1-, 2+ and 2-. They're just names but you have to connect to the correct ones to get the desired result...