1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Squier VMFJ

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LKdubby, Mar 18, 2008.

1. LKdubby

LKdubby

Nov 2, 2007
    Los Angeles
    I've just made arrangements to go check out one of these on Thursday morning.

I found it on CL and offered 175$ for it. The owner has this to say about it:

I played one of these at a pawn shop and liked it. However it had fretboard damage from roundwound strings being scratched across it and the pawnshop guy was asking brand new prices for it... I figured that if he wouldn't budge on that price then it would be stupid to buy it vs. a new one without any damage..

Either way though, I'm going to look at this one on Thursday. I'm still an amateur bassist in a very experimental phase and one of these Squier's are not only in my price range, but also felt pretty decent whey playing on it.. I like the fretless sound, always have. And this bass was comfortable in my hands..

Just thought I'd share. :D

I'll post pics if I end up getting this bass. I have a good feeling about it though. I haven't been able to get the VMFJ out of my head since I played it at that pawn shop! And now I've found one willing to be sold for $175 vs $250 at pawn!

2. BillMason

BillMason Supporting Member

Mar 6, 2007
    Great deal, buy it. I just got back from band practice, and left my MIA Fenders home, and just played my VM Fretless. It's a solid bass!!

3. chaunceytoben

chaunceytoben

May 29, 2007
    Detroit, MI
    played one at my local music store. i didnt get a chance to plug it in, but it felt and played extremely nice.

4. basspraiser

basspraiser Jammin for the Lamb! Supporting Member

Dec 8, 2006
    Chicago - NW Burbs
    $175???? Jump on it!

great way to get into fretless....if I could find one used for $150 or so, I would be all over it....(then I would "trade up" to a fretless JO etc)

5. badboy1984