Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Starter practice amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tanc, Jun 23, 2004.

1. :help:
    Hi guys
    I am really having a difficult time finding a good practice bass amp. I have seen so many, but don't really know what I am looking for. I am new at playing bass so need something not too loud. I am doing for the love of the music rather than to gigging (for the moment). One guitarist has is saying Ashdown perfect 10 or the SWR LA10 are both good amps. Another said that they would not touch them and buy fender or marshall. PLEASE HELP!!!!
    Thanks
    Tan

2. =w=Bassist

=w=Bassist

May 22, 2004
    the fender rumble series makes good stuff at a decent price as does the peavey microbass combos. W/ ashdowns you might get up there in price, and i'm not all to sure marshall maeks a bass combo anymore (or ever for that matter??). with SWR Cash is alo an issue can also get up there in price
    for right now
    starting out, i would recomend the Fender Rumble 15 , a or the Peavey Microbass III

p.s.~ (try to stay away from rogue, though it might have been just me, i have not had any good experiences w/ them)

3. corrosivemind5

corrosivemind5

May 16, 2004
    Yeah i owne a pb200-15 which is a combo with 160 watts of power and they make a pb100 which is 100 watts which could be a good practice amp and i think its around 200 or 300 ill get back to you on that :smug:

Ben

4. corrosivemind5

corrosivemind5

May 16, 2004
  5. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
  6. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    Peavey TNT

7. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    I've got a peavey microbass III and it's great for quiet playing and cost me about $100 new 3 years ago.