Steel vs Nickel wound, Specific to Flatwounds

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Rob-in-London, Aug 23, 2009.

1. Rob-in-London

Rob-in-London

Jun 21, 2008
    London, England
    Endorsing artist: Rusty Deluxe Pickups
    I've searched the forums and haven't been able to find a thread on this particular "sub-subject". (If I'm wrong just slap my wrist and point me in the right direction :p)

I've decided I want to put flats on my P-Bass. Needless to say I'm a newbie to flats. I'm after the sound referred to as "dead", like an aged roundwound can get. I was all set on LaBella Deep Talkin' until I found out they were steel wound. With more research I found out most flats were steel wound, which surprised me.

I had always thought of steel as magnetic and nickel as non-magnetic, and therefore equated steel with brightness for that reason. (As well as experience with steelwound half-rounds, which were bright in the extreme. I don't remember the make, but I'd always thought their choice of steel was a way to "compensate" for the brightness lost in moving away from roundwound.)

Somewhere I came across a post that suggested my assumptions on the magnetic issue are way off. Can anyone shed some light?

Thanks,
    Rob

2. Bassman316

Bassman316

May 27, 2008
    Longs, SC
    You're right in that most flatwound strings are stainless steel. There are some brands of flatwounds, such as D'Addario Chromes for example, that are stainless steel wound and sound rather trebly for a flatwound right out of the pack. But, after a couple of weeks of regular playing, they start to settle in nicely and the 'zingyness' will start to wear off. To be honest the only brand string that's a nickel-wound flatwound are the TI Jazz Bass nickel flats.

3. I'm pretty sure the Sadowsky flats are also nickel.

4. Rezlax31

Rezlax31

Feb 14, 2008
    Pretty sure Pyramids are as well.

5. john-boro

john-boro

May 8, 2009