1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Switching to DB from electric

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by ramrod, Apr 13, 2009.

1. ramrod

ramrod

Apr 6, 2006
    This has probably already been covered, but here goes. Ive been playing electric for many years and want to give DB a try. How hard is the switch?..Do I need to hire a teacher?..Thanks

2. ramrod

ramrod

Apr 6, 2006
  3. RobertUI

RobertUI Thumper Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Herndon, VA - NoVa

He just sent you a link to the sticky entitled:
    "Sticky: BASS FORUM LINKS (Newbie Links): PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING NEW TOPICS"

There's some great reading there.

4. ZonGuy

ZonGuy

Sep 2, 2007
    Find a good teacher and a good bow, even if you never plan to use the bow when you play commercially.

5. Basskimo

Basskimo

Mar 6, 2009
    Work without the bow to get in tune, relatively, then work with bow. Then refine intonation from there. It's a little bit more work than it sounds though.

6. StyleOverShow

StyleOverShow Still Playing After All These Years Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2008
    Hillsdale, Portland
    The toughest part of the transition is intonation, IMO. With frets you can land anywhere behind the metal bar and you're good, whereas with DB or fretless for that matter, its millimeters that make different pitches. Currently I'm going crazy watching my TU-2 tuner trying to play "So What" in different positions.

On the other hand, the range of sounds that you can make with a DB/fretless are incredibly varied and expressive. Take your time and enjoy the workouts.

-richard

7. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    I always say that it's a little like going from Ping Pong to Tennis . . . the rules are basically the same but the playing field is a lot bigger. Enjoy it. :)