Syncing with a metronome

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by kessell5, Sep 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. kessell5

kessell5

May 30, 2015
    So I've been playing for about 2-3 years, and I've been in a bit of a rut with trying to improve my technique, mostly refining my ability to play in time.

Typically I will practice certain exercises with a metronome, and I notice that about half the time I will hit the note dead on (won't hear the click) while about the other half of the time I will be just slightly ahead or behind. I do notice how my notes will sound more even with better timing.

Is this normal? Is this something that if I keep working at will just gradually improve over time? Any advice anyone can give would be appreciated.

2. eJake

eJake

May 22, 2011
    New Orleans
    You will definitely improve with time. Keep playing withe the metronome. we are not machines and will not be exact every single time. That being said, the met will give you good time which IMHO is the best compliment a bass player can get.

kessell5 likes this.
  3. iammr2

iammr2

Jun 10, 2002
    It's normal. Keep working on it till you can hit the note dead on all the time. Then work on stay behind the note, then leading the note.

kessell5 likes this.
  4. MYLOWFREQ

MYLOWFREQ Supporting Member

May 13, 2011
    That's totally normal, and you'll improve. Here's a few tips (at least they work for me):

Listen to the metronome for about 4 measures or so without playing. Also, tap your foot with the click.

Don't rush, even being a little behind the click consistently is better than rushing. Ideally, being "in" the click is what you should aim for imo. Imagine the "tik", "tak" of the click on the timeline, and strum the string right on the letter "i" and "a".

kessell5 likes this.
  5. kessell5

kessell5

May 30, 2015
    Appreciate the advice everyone. Glad to hear that its pretty normal. I'll keep plugging away.

eJake likes this.