1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Tapered Low B advice...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by dreads311, Jul 18, 2012.

1. Hello! I'm new to tapered low B strings and am never sure which sets to buy or if they are any good. Help me find the right strings! I would love to hear what you like to play on and why. I play 34" scale, medium gauge (.045-.135) and go for warmth and punch. I play in a pop/rock band, and all I'm all fingerstyle. Proud owner of a custom shop Warwick Thumb NT 5 Brodneck.

2. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Commercial User

Sep 9, 2007
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Manager of Digital Brand Development and Product Development at GHS Strings
    First what I'd do is contact a Warwick dealer and see if you can get an extra string saddle for your bridge. Tell them you want the one that goes under the G string. Use that "narrower" string saddle on your tapered B string, and it will allow for a little better intonation on the B string than the regular saddle and string will (I've done this on my Corvette Std). Keep the other one around, in case you switch back.

EDIT: This is merely an option. You can easily use a tapered B with the regular wide saddle on the Warwick bridge, but as someone that regularly finds himself around the 10th fret on the B, having the better intonation that the narrower saddle provides is extremely useful.

Secondly, I've used GHS Progressives on my Corvette Std 5 and Streamer LX 6 Broadneck with great results. Punchy strings that are very articulate, but retain a warmth to them. The E and B strings are both "saddle huggers" (may actually be exposed core, or what GHS refers to it as). The clarity up the neck on the B and E strings are very good.

3. mmbongo

mmbongo Dilly Dilly! Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
  4. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010