Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tenor Clef

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by matt macgown, Jun 18, 2004.

1. matt macgown

matt macgown Guest

Dec 1, 2003
    Chattanooga, TN
    I've babbled on several times today, and failed to ask the question that I originally had planned . But the forum is so interesting that you can get caught up in it and be distracted.

I studied Simandl books (1,2, Etudes) early on, then Nanny 1,2, and both served as good background in the early years.

However, what seems to have been lacking was a good book of studies for tenor cleff in DB language. Now I am curious if I can find same without having to turn to the cello literature. Has anyone written a good series in tenor cleff? There's little more frustrating than playing along some chamber piece and all of a sudden having to switch quickly to tenor. It should be automatic, but I find it isn't. Too many years have elapsed since I was in music school and was reasonably fluent in it.

Thanks in advance.

Matt M

2. Hello matt macgown, i play tenor clef, its one 'f' in clef by the way! :) When i moved into my advance studies with the trombone i found a simple and pleseant introduction the tenor clef was a book called 'Introducing the tenor Clef for trombone(bassoon)' by Reginald H.Fink (Accura Music) Check it out @ www.hickeys.com regard A K.

3. matt macgown

matt macgown Guest

Dec 1, 2003
    Chattanooga, TN
    Thanks much, I will check that.

4. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
  5. matt macgown

matt macgown Guest

Dec 1, 2003
    Chattanooga, TN
    Again, thanks. This also looks like something I will buy. Though bass players don't often run into tenor cleff, there are invariably those times.

6. mpm

mpm

May 10, 2001
    Los Angeles