Tense...

Discussion in 'Ask Lynn Seaton' started by Ojinomoto, Dec 15, 2006.

1. Hello sir. I tense up at bit when I really dig in my playing(hands, fingers and arms), especialy when I slap (the muscles around my shoulder. Its a flexing kind of tense-up.) The thing is, Im not playing anything thats faster/too advance for my skill level. Have you ever heard of this before? And do you have a suggestion to get rid of it?

2. Cool, thanks for nothin!:meh:

3. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    Wow... you seem tense.

4. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago
    +1. It is the weekend. Give him a chance. I know as a working pro I spend far less time at the computer on the weekend as I am, well, working.

I'll chime in my thoughts. I have found that general relaxation and breathing is very important to fluid playing. We are biological beings and how our body and mind functions is, in part, about properly oxygenating the blood and blood flow.

Another important part of that is proper hydration. You'll have a much greater incidence of stiff muscles and increased exercise recovery time (I was a pretty serious cyclist and amateur triathlete for a while) if you are not drinking enough water. You know, lactic acid build up in the muscles and all.

Lastly, practice in a mirror. See if you have any habits such as tensing shoulders, holding breath, strange posture, etc.

I'd start with that.

5. Lynn Seaton

Lynn Seaton Gold Supporting Member

Nov 3, 2006
    Denton, TX
    Hello All,
    I reply to messages as quickly as possible. This forum is different from a chat room in that I am not online all the time. If the post contains a question, it gets answered. It looks like the first post from Ojinomoto was posted before I began monitoring this forum in January of 2007. I am sorry that it did not get a reply until now.
    Lynn

6. Lynn Seaton

Nov 3, 2006
    Denton, TX
    Ojinomoto,