Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The newb needs some help.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ticktock, Sep 27, 2003.

1. Ticktock

Ticktock

Sep 3, 2003
    Yeah, I just started playing about a week ago. I'm planning to play for the band for my church's youth group, but I have encountered a few stumbling blocks with the notes. Here goes...
    How do you play a minor note? The ones in particular the music calls for are Am, Em, Gm, and Fm. Also, what does it mean when a note is followed by a number? I.e., C2, D6, or A7. (Although that six might actually be a 'g'...the handwriting on some of the sheets is a little muddy.) Finally, what does it mean when a note is followed by 'sus'?
    Thanks in advance.

2. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Hi. Welcome to Talkbass. :)

First off, those are chords you listed, not notes. Chords are formed from the notes of a scale. Using the ones you listed:

Am = A C E
    Em = E G B
    Gm = G Bb D
    Fm = F Ab C

Major chords are formed from the root, 3rd, and 5th of the major scale. Minor chords are formed from the root, flat 3rd (b3), and 5th of the major scale.

If your piece of music is calling for these chords you would basically play the notes that belong to that chord (you can play more than that but I don't want to confuse you right now). It would be wise of you to learn chords and how to read a chord chart (which I assume you are doing for your band).

As for the chords you listed that are followed by a number:

C2 = C D G
    D6 = D F# A B
    A7 = A C# E G

C2 (Csus2) is a suspended chord. The second note (D) is used instead of the 3rd (E). D6 is a major chord with the 6th note added. A7 is a dominant 7th chord. This chord is built using the root, 3rd, 5th, and b7 of the major scale.