1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Think about flats for my p-bass

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Mikhail1, Mar 24, 2013.

1. Mikhail1

Mikhail1

Apr 8, 2008
    Ok I am toying with the idea of putting flats on my p-bass. I have a j-bass that will never wear anything but rounds so I feel that I can cover just about anything musically speaking. I have been playing bass since 1976 and swore off flats since rounds became readily available. But... I have always loved the sound of flats, especially when played with a pick. So I'm looking at picking up a set of flats but can't really decide between D'Addario Chromes of GHS Precision flats. I know I will go with the lightest sets available but that's about it. Pros and cons of each would be appreciated.

2. Thump (decay) is partly related to tension.
    Low tension strings such as T-I Jazz Flats have a nice thump to them.
    They attack quickly then decay rapidly with less sustain.
    I played these on my MIM-P for almost a decade. They last forever.

The DA Chromes are a bit brighter than the GHS.

3. GHS Precisions will thump, similar to LaBella.

Chromes will 'cut' more, and you'll be able to get more treble from them.

Since flats never go bad and I never need to throw them away, I keep 2 sets around and alternate between Chromes and LaBellas on my P (currently Chromes).

4. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!

Sep 7, 2006
    Blimp City USA
    I have tried a few flats and and like Chromes they play sound and feel great. The tension is a little high but they get more flexible as they age as well as their tone improves.

5. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups