1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Three basses, need help picking one

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SmurfK, Apr 25, 2018.

1. SmurfK

SmurfK

Mar 28, 2018
    Hello.

I would like to treat myself with a 5 string bass. I'm not a professional player, I play at home, record few things from time to time, or jam with some friends online. I want something affordable, that would provide good comfort and versatile tones.

My bass right now is a 4-string SX PJ bass. It's pretty good, especially for the price, but it gets a bit noisy (that will probably be fixed with shielding), but the comfort problem is that it neck dives a bit too much. I play sitting down, so I can't really fix it with a strap and also be comfortable. P body does not offer a lot of help either, as it's hard to get a fixed position on my leg or in between my legs. My previous bass was a Cort Action V. I didn't like the build quality on that one not one bit, but it was pretty comfortable. I would keep it on my left leg, and it would be in a perfect position.

I pretty much decided on three basses, but I'm having problems picking one. I'm pretty sure that I'll probably be very happy with any of them, but I would like to hear your opinion, as all of you are much more experienced than I am.

I'm interested in comfort more than anything. I play anything, I'm very diverse from this point of view, from hip-hop, pop, to jazz and grindcore, so I would like something pretty versatile too. Weight is not an important factor as far as I'm concerned. Play sitting down won't put much pressure on my back, even if I'm wearing the strap while doing so.