1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Tips for going from Drums to Bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kennydakid, Jan 27, 2012.

1. kennydakid

kennydakid

Jan 8, 2009
    Amesbury, MA
    Hey guys, I have been a member here for a bit but I mostly used the Band Management forum. I am a drummer who recently decided to take up bass seriously. I've played drums for 15 years. My band broke up in October, 2011 and I put down the drum sticks. After taking some time off from music I got an offer to play bass in a praise band led by the guitarist/vocalist of my prior band.

Do you guys have any tips for someone going from Drums to Bass? I've already played one gig with this group on bass, I basically played root notes for 5 songs (we had our first practice on Saturday and played on Sunday last week).

Any tips for getting better/ more adventurous are welcome.

2. kraigo

kraigo

Jun 21, 2007
    Minneapolis, MN
    Welcome. I still do both. There are lots of us here.

Someone once said "you're never more than a half step [one fret] a good note." The problem is whether to go up or down, of course.

Turn on the radio and play along through everything - the commercials, etc. Develop that ear. It's the three minute challenge. Learn the song as well as you can before the DJ throws another song at you. Hint: The most common keys in pop music are C, A, G, E and D.

Pick and album and try to learn it all the way through, day after day. Go through another album.

I'm not a reader, but it would make my life easier if I were. Consider learning to read - there's a lifetime's worth material out there.

Respect the root. When the chord changes it usually the right thing to do to hit the root on the chord change.