1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

To teach or not to teach

Discussion in 'Ask David Overthrow' started by bassman67, Aug 4, 2007.

1. bassman67

bassman67

Aug 2, 2007
    Hi David,

I wanted to get your feedback on my situation. I have been playing bass guitar for over 30 years in a variety of music styles. My current gig is a volunteer bassist at a really progressive church. So here is my situation. Our band director is opening a music school/coffee shop and he has asked me to teach bass. The problem is I am self taught, have never had a lesson, and I have limited knowledge of music theory.

What do you think would be the best tract for me to take to get myself prepared to teach? I was thinking I should take some lessons so that I can get an idea of how that all works, as welll as maybe learn a few things that I could pass on to my students.

The good news is that he wants me to start off with the beginner bass students so I should be fine with getting them to understand the basic fundamentals of playing bass, however, once they start progressing or asking questions as to why we do one thing vs. another, that is where I may start to struggle.

Any info you can offer would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Tony
    Bassman67

2. Hi Tony, It took me longer than I would have liked to get back to because I was on the road for the last 5 weeks teaching bass seminars and classes at the National Guitar Workshop as well as some fun gigs sprinkled in there.