Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Total newbie here

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Ould, Dec 23, 2004.

1. Ould

Ould

Dec 23, 2004
    Toronto, Ontario
    Hi Everyone,

I am a complete newbie. New to this fine forum as well as to basses. I read through the forum a little bit before I decided to actually register and post.

A little info about myself. I have always had a fascination with the bass guitar and have always been drawn to bass heavy music for some odd reason. I always thought I was odd as most people tend to be drawn to the guitar and possibly the drums. For as long as I can remember I have always wanted to get a bass and learn to play but for whatever reasons I have never actually gone through with it. I have always liked rock/heavier type music but as I get older(almost 30 :crying: ) I have broadened my horizons and find myself listening to a wider range of music but still mainly listen to rock/alternative type stuff(listening to some primus at the moment). As for playing musical instruments, the only instruments I have played were way back in public/middle school(recorder, ukelele, clarinet etc) so I don't have much experience and nothing recently. Through high school many of my friends played guitars and every now and again I would play around with them but not enough to actually learn anything. That's a bit about my history so you all know where I am coming from.

Lately for some reason I have been bitten by the Bass bug again and am wanting to try learning it but I have no idea where to start, well buy a bass obviously lol. I had some questions concerns before taking the plunge.

1. Will I still be able to learn to play seeing as I am a bit older and I know learning something new seems to get harder with age?

2. Would it be recommended to take lessons or to learn on my own?