Total Noob To the Standup

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Petary791, Feb 20, 2005.

1. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Since i've been listening to Primus, i've gotten really into the stand-up. I also want to join Jazz Band next year and I think a stand-up would be cool. So I have a question for you. I'm only a Freshman, so I'm short on cash and i'm looking for an EUB. I was checking out the Dean stand up, anyone think that's a good beginner bass? If not, what's a good (relative to the price) stand up bass?

Thanks a ton guys!

And one more thing, on the song "Mr. Krinkle" by Primus (on the Pork Soda album), does anyone know how he gets that sound with his stand-up? Is it just a regularly stand-up or is he using distortion?
  2. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    The Dean is worthless. It has a BG bridge and a BG neck. You'll never get the right technique playing it -- it's also got BG scale and a slightly-rounder-than-BG fretboard. Look for a Carruthers if you want to go REAL cheap, but I've gotten great reccomendations in the last few posts in my topic "DB or EUB?" in this forum.
  3. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    What is a stand-up? I think I have one of those on my bicycle.
  4. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Are you mocking me?
  5. mrpc

mrpc Guest

Feb 7, 2005
    Not exactly a welcoming remark, dude. I think I smell some bad bait here!