1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Trainwreck incoming!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by eukatheude, Jun 19, 2014.

1. So, I had an ad up offering my services as session player.
    The first call I got from it in months was this tuesday: there's this big music festival in my city, and this woman's son (a couple years under my age - I'm 23) was just kicked out of his band which was going to play there this saturday.
    So since his birthday is close, she thought well of calling up pro musicians (I'm not a pro yet, but that's beside the point) to help him out. In the end she decided to just hire me, while the guy found a singer and a guitarist. I had to go on a work trip to the Netherlands the following days with no time to listen to the songs (which were supposed to be 3, now they bumped up to seven with some titles miscommunicated so I can't even find them online), this evening I'm playing with another band so no time either.

Still, not a problem as it's all easy stuff which, with chord charts, I can probably figure out on the fly (green day, blink 182, shakira, pitbull etc.), plus I'll rehearse with these guys friday. Point is... He sent me a mail with the tracklist, and I saw his picture from the google account, and I've realized I've already played with this guy. I was auditioning for a cover band (got the gig but the band went nowhere and disbanded a few months later) and he was kicked out by the following rehearsal.
    He can't keep a beat to save his life, zero dynamics, zero whatsoever, and says he's been taking lessons for years.. To his defence he didn't really feel "ok" to me, like he has some kind of mental condition (don't mean to offend anyone) as he seemed to have trouble understanding anything that was said to him ("Hey man, ease up a bit on this part" "Sure dude! OK!" *BANG BOOM TSSH BANG BANG!!!* etc.).