Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Triplets (again)

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Danny R., Dec 22, 2003.

1. Danny R.

Danny R. Supporting Member

I've been doing triplets for a few years now, I've been working in some new ideas but I'd like to get more ideas and opinions, suggestions etc. basically I want to learn more ways to do triplets, here's some soundclips ;)

N. 1: this triplets are ala Wooten, everybody can do it, thumb down, thumb up and pluck, very easy and cool triplets, I'm posting the soundclips just as a reference of how I do the triplets, the bass is recorded directly to my soundcard.

2. Danny R.

N. 2: this triplets are similar to the first one, but I pluck twice instead of once, thumb down, thumb up, index pluck and middle pluck.
    This is the first time I record and post soundclips, the timing might be a little off, so go easy on me ;)

3. Danny R.

N. 3: this triplets are a little hard (my favorite), I've been working on this triplets for a few weeks now, what I do is; I slap the E string (muted) anywhere on the board, hammer, slap (muted), and double pluck (index and middle), I do some other variations, but I wanna learn other ways to make triplets so if any one have and Idea, another way or a suggestion please let me know.
    Thanks guys ;)

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Very cool.

now post some pictures! :)

I have been working on triplets a lot myself, tough I can't do it as well as you!

I'm working on it though! ;)

one note, wouldn't the second one by a quadrate? not a triplet :p

5. Danny R.

Yeah, I guess so, what about the third one?? I hit the strings 5 times with that motion, what should I call it? :D

6. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    hmmm quintet?

7. Danny R.

ah, quintet, cool thanks ;)

8. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    Mexico
    Mexican PentaSlap Deluxe