Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tuning Down

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by JüiceXIII, Jan 21, 2005.

1. JüiceXIII

JüiceXIII

Jan 17, 2005
    i have been playing bass for a couple of months now and some songs i play i have noticed say, 'tune down a half-step', and i was just wondering if anybody could please tell me what it means and how you do this. thanks.

2. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK
    It means that you lower the tuning of all four (or five) strings down "one half" a step (ie one semitone) so your E become Eb etc.

3. DigMe

DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    And the more you tune down the more metal you are.

brad cook

4. Yup. Fieldy plays low A. Totally metal. ;)

5. No, Lower means cookie monster.

6. You called?

7. ;)

8. tucker

tucker Guest

Jan 21, 2001
    North Carolina
    why does lower have to be metal, angry, hardcore. Can't it just be music. Listen to Davis schools, greatr bassistwith good low end, and lel calypool, although he use alot high and mids. but regarless nice low end on their songs. It makes the music have a foundation. tuning lower is good but problem with most people, 'specially kids, they believe the lower the music the harder it is. low end music is good, think of the bass its bass clef, think of alto or treble clef.....lower music can be flatted to make a more dissonant, outside feel.

9. CJK84

CJK84

Jan 22, 2004
    Maria Stein, OH
    Originally, tuning down may have been intiated by guitarists.

For instance, I've heard that Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath liked the fat distorted tone he could achieve when tuning his electric guitar lower.

So Sabbath bassist Geezer Butler may have tuned down in response to Iommi.

10. bste9

bste9

Jun 15, 2000
    St. Louis
    lower isnt always metal, check out Interpol. They tune in drop-D and are far from metal.