Upcoming beginner gig

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rangerz715, Feb 19, 2004.

1. I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this, sorry mods if I made the wrong choice. I just started playing bass a few months ago and don't really know too much. In school I'm part of a percussion class and were gonna be playing a small little concert around the first week of March. For a couple songs I'm gonna be playing some bass and just wanted some ideas on how to play it.
    -The first song is just really E A D C over and over again. I know I can just keep on playing the same notes but that getts kinda boring. I remember reading about playing the root and the fifth, so how would that work in this case? Or what else would I be able to play still staying with the E A D C?

-The second song is with harmonics and I can really play anything I want. Is there any interesting stuff I could play that sounds good but is still pretty simple?

Thanks so much guys. I would appreciate any advice.
  2. Hi, I'm a starter too, but sence im guessing you're in the key of C, then this shouldn't be to hard. E A D C are the chords right? and if they are then you should have some time to manuveur around them *don't play just whole/ quarter notes, makes you look like a poser*

im not sure how fast ur playing, or realy wat ur playing so i cant help u too much but here it goes:

take from the E string and do a run up to the A in time, so like E - F - G then to A. now from your A to D; go from A, back down to G real fast, then go up to the D skipping some notes.

just fool around with different notes in runs, acending and decending, dont do the same thing repeatedly too. also, dont follow the scale, skip around it, and if you're confident enough go up the neck and have fun!