Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Upton Bass is Da Bomb!

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Craig Garfinkel, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Craig Garfinkel

Craig Garfinkel

Aug 25, 2000
    Hartford, CT
    Endorsing Artist: Sadowsky Guitars
    I just got back from beautiful Mystic, CT, where I picked up my Shen SB 80 from Upton Bass, where it received a full setup.

Firstly, I cannot say enough about how I was treated; initially by Jack and Eric, and today when I finally got to meet Gary himself. What a great bunch of cats! They truly love what they do, and it shows. Although I'm a total noob to the DB they made me feel like I was Paul Warburton bringing in his Bohmann instead of the slab-smackin' DB wanna-be that I am draggin' in a fugly Shen. :D

When I first brought them the bass, I had a budget and we settled on what could be done within what I was willing to spend. A few days later Gary called me and said he'd really like to do a bunch more stuff in order to make the bass sound as good as possible, and I said I'd be willing to go up to "x" amount. To make a long story short, they ended up doing the following: new bridge, installation of FC pickup, new sound post and fit, fingerboard plane and dress, new endpin install, rehang tailpiece, nut adjustment and a new set of Spirocores, all for hundreds of dollars less than I should have expected to pay! :hyper:

And the quality of the work? Fantastic! Even in my newbie hands I was instantly struck by how much more playable the bass was. When I first purchased the bass I thought, well, this is going to be a struggle...but I'm just going to have to build up the hand strength and callouses necessary to wrestle this bad boy into submission. Now I feel like I'll actually be able to play this sucker one day...and maybe a bit sooner than I had imagined.