1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

using duets to teach

Discussion in 'Double Bass Pedagogy [DB]' started by Tom Gale, Oct 9, 2010.

1. Tom Gale

Tom Gale

May 16, 2009
    When I was an active private teacher, I found that duets are a great tool in teaching. The student tends to hear and copy your vibrato, bowing and style, etc. without long explanations.
    Are there still teachers pout there that use duets as a teaching devise??
    Tom Gale

2. I have used duos more lot more for jazz tunes and free improvisation, but I have also used a great book of classical duos by Turetzky as well.

3. Tom Gale

Tom Gale

May 16, 2009

4. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    I'm not a teacher, but I sometimes work with my kids when they practice for their lessons. When I play along in unison with my son (on cello), it's hard for him to pick out who is playing out of tune. Playing a harmony or duet part, even if improvised, lets him hear his own intonation much better. So I think this might be a useful approach for teaching beginners.

5. Les Fret

Les Fret

Sep 9, 2009
    I think duets are great for intonation. I practice duets from time to time with my teacher and than we try to find an 'uniform' pitch. Both have to adjust and listen very well to each other. You also have to do this when you play in an orchestra. Great practice!

6. Ryan Berg

Ryan Berg

Mar 13, 2008
    new york, ny
    I like to use the bach 2 part piano inventions and play tunes duo for jazz.