using hide glue

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by MikeH, Jun 19, 2005.

1. MikeH

Jun 16, 2005
    This is my first time repairing a popped seam on my upright bass.

I would prefer to use the granulated hide glue, because I understand it is stronger than the liquid kind.

My question is whether I can just mix granulated hide glue with hot water in a glass or something and use it.

At Stewart McDonald, they have an electric melting pot for hide glue that costs $115. This is way more than I want to spend, so I just want to make sure that I will be able to do this repair with just the glue and some bar clamps.

2. Aroneng

Aroneng Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2001
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL

As you mentioned, you can mix the granules and water in a jar. If you have a hot water pot with a variable temp dial and thermometer you can set the pot to the desired temperature. You can do it on the stove if needed, it's more a matter of keeping the glue close to your work.
  3. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    You can use a hot plate and have the rig closer to your bass, or use your stovetop (electric) range. A little soup pot works fine; fill it 1/2 way with water. Put your little glass jar of hide glue and water in this hot-water bath. (The water level should be well below the lip of your glass jar.) You don't want the water boiling! Just warm enough to melt the glue and get the crystals dissolved.

btw- it doesn't take much glue to close a seam. Don't put lots and lots of glue in this joint; it will just run down the linings and inside of the rib.
  4. How about one of those little baby-formula-bottle heaters? Small enough, simple, and does the job for much < $115…

- Wil

here you go… ;)
  5. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby