Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Violent femmes

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by rock-wannabe, Sep 7, 2004.

1. rock-wannabe

rock-wannabe

Sep 3, 2004
    Brian Ritchie has to be one of the most tallented bassists out that, what do u guys think of him,,,,i'll post more later just i gtg out. please reply with your thoughts

2. slackdaddy

slackdaddy

Mar 1, 2004
    Athens, GA
    Endorsing Artist: David Eden Amplifiers / Rob Wave Custom basses
    I am glad to see someone else agrees. Did you see the BR post started here a few dats ago?

3. rock-wannabe

rock-wannabe

Sep 3, 2004
    Yeah im just annoyed no one pays attention to them, most my mates dont know them but the ones i do refuse to listen to them becuase they were on sabrina the teenage witch. I havent read the other post, im new to talkbass, im more of a bassworld.co.uk guy.

4. Maybe it's just me, but doesn't it seem kind of ignorant to put off a band that's been slugging it out in near-obscurity for 20 some odd years because they were on a TV show?

The first three Violent Femmes records were profoundly influential to me.

5. slackdaddy

slackdaddy

Mar 1, 2004
    Athens, GA
    Yeah, your buddies are missing out. The Femmes are amazing. Some very cool basslines. I too learned a lot when I was starting out by listening to the Violent Femmes.

6. Freshman/Sophomore (grade 9 or 10) years of High School. That was more or less my introduction to "punk" rock.

7. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    The Femmes are great: But Riche needs to realize that fast doesn't equal good. All he does is shred when he solos. He's a good riffer, though.

I bought Freak Magnet the other day... it's the album I hate to love. The songs are so stupid that they piss me off, but I get them stuck in my head. :meh:

8. slackdaddy

slackdaddy

Mar 1, 2004
    Athens, GA