1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

VT Bass Deluxe questions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by pfschim, Mar 11, 2013.

1. pfschim

pfschim Just a Skeleton with a Jazz bass Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2006
    SF Bay Area
    I posted these in the original VTD review thread, but its an old thread that apparently does not get much traffic.

I am new to the VTD as of last weekends gig. Very cool device. After playing with it a bit, and using it on a gig Sat night, I have a few questions for you more experienced VTD users.

The Tech21 manual says you can send effected or uneffected signal out of the XLR/DI. Is there a separate control for this that I am just not seeing, or are they simply referring to the preset being on or off ?

I tried putting the VTD into the front end of the PF500, as well as into the Power Amp in jack (bypassing the preamp).
    I did not try it in the FX in/out section of the PF500.
    For the Sat gig, I went with the normal 1/4" out into the front end of the PF500 because then I get to use the PF500 compressor (which is a pretty nice compressor and I like a touch of that in my final tone). I know other TB'ers prefer the power amp in method and I'm curious as to why.

My immediate view is this is a great device and I am now going to set it up for my 2 typical gig basses (fretted 4 and Turner fretless 4). Also eagerly awaiting the chance to use it as a DI in the FOH next weekend, and to tame the issues I have had with various backline setups in the past.

thanks

2. If you put the blend at nil you get no effect.

Power amp in is simply a preference for eliminating the amp's preamp.

Compression may be validly applied before the effect loop or after it. If yours is before you're tied to going through the preamp input if you want the compressor.