Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Walkin' in Rhythm

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by JazzDude, Jul 2, 2004.

1. Hi, all.

I'm relatively new to jazz bass playing, and I have a question for you more experienced jazzers.

I've been going to a local jam session lately, and working on my building my repertoire.

Something that comes up a lot is tunes with Rhythm changes. Looking in the old Real Books, songs like Anthropology, Oleo, and Flintstones are all Rhythm songs, but each one has slightly different changes. My question is, when someone calls one of these tunes, should I know it's specific variations, or should I just think 'Rhythm changes' and wing it, meaning listen for what seems to fit everything else going on? Is there a real possibility of too much 'clash' if I'm playing a different variation?

Does my question make any sense?

2. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    1. RU reading the charts???

2. What do you specifically mean by Rhythm changes??

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    1. Yes, but he prolly wants to get away from reading them and just play music.

2. He specifically means that veritable host of composition based on the harmonic framework of George and Ira Gerswhin's I GOT RHYTHM. And who could ask fro anything more?