1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Warwick Corvette 5, Logic Pro, and You

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Mitch Pirtle, Feb 23, 2008.

1. Ok, actually this is about me *blush*

Old geezer here, attempting to modernize with a MacBook Pro, MBox2, Logic Pro, and a vintage Warwick Corvette 5.

Man, that tone simply stinks. I mean S-T-E-E-N-K-S, and not in a good way. I play around with the existing virtual amps, and even muck around with the garageband ones. Pew!

*mitchy pinches nose shut

Oh, also listening through Sennheiser HD280 'phones.

I have had some (inexperienced) engineers make funny faces at me when I plug my Corvette into the direct box, but usually get a pretty killer tone out of it with a little effort.

With this current setup however, I've put a LOT of effort and just can't get a decent sound out of it. Do I blame the bass? Is Logic's stock stuff just not up to snuff? Can I blame bad parenting or poor personal hygiene?

Would love to know from other Corvette owners out there what their experiences were going direct, and what tricks they did to get the most out of that monster growl.

Because for me that monster growl is more like, well the forum rules prohibit me from being descriptive :oops:

2. BetterBottomEnd

BetterBottomEnd <- Not me I just like looking at her

Jan 9, 2007
    Cable Wi
    I blame video games. They're the cause of every other problem in our society.

3. Logic Pro should give back whatever is put in to it, that's not the problem. If you have had good results with that bass elsewhere than that is not the problem. So I'm gonna guess it's the M Box hardware. I've never heard that unit but I would assume the pre's are junk, possibly the converters as well. Get a real preamp, or if you've got an amp with a line out try that.