1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What do I do with the fingers I'm not using?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by swallowedlight, Feb 13, 2020.

1. swallowedlight

swallowedlight

Feb 13, 2020
    I'm a beginner and this has been frustrated me for the past few days.
    What do I do with the fingers that I'm not playing a note with? For example, I'm playing a C with my index finger, where do I put the other three fingers? Like, do I put them on the string above or something?

2. underwhelmist

underwhelmist

Nov 16, 2018
    UK
    Use them to mute (some of) the other strings? Get in a position so one of those other fingers is ready for the next note? It's an interesting question, I've never thought about what the non-fretting fingers are doing, I'm too busy concentrating on the fingers doing the fretting and plucking!

zontar and swallowedlight like this.
  3. Malcolm35

Malcolm35

Aug 7, 2018
    Good question. I for years used the one finger per fret method, and then one day the fingers started deciding which finger would get the next note. I let them decide and Good things happen. So I bet your index is doing most of the work. Running your scales up and down the fretboard should help and if the middle finger can get the next note, let it.

swallowedlight likes this.
  4. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    I just let them hover closely over the string that I'm playing. They may drift over one of the other strings but that's the basic idea.

BlueP and swallowedlight like this.
  5. bolophonic

bolophonic Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2009
    Durham, NC
    I use mine to mute the other strings while I prepare to play the next note, I guess. Never really thought about it before.