1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What is raking and how is it done?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Captain Ahab, Jul 30, 2012.

1. Captain Ahab

Captain Ahab

Jul 25, 2012
    Utah
    I'm a noob at bass, and I'm still trying to pick up techniques as I learn and I heard about raking, I did some searching on google chrome, but it's not finding anything, it could be how I typed the search in though:rolleyes:

Anyways, what is raking and how's it done?

2. Fuzzy Dustmite

Fuzzy Dustmite

Jan 25, 2005
    Mesa, AZ
    when you drag one finger from one string to the next lower string, instead of alternating your fingers.

3. sammyp

sammyp

Aug 20, 2010
    NB, Canada

what he said ...just for clarity i'll add .....when you are switching strings from high to low - IE. the A string to the E string = if you play a note on the A string and your next note is going to be on the E string then the finger that plucked the A string is already there ready to pluck your new note on the E string.

it's like sweep picking on a guitar ....but it only works in one direction on bass ...high string to lower string.

4. Yogen

Yogen

Jul 15, 2012
    which would be better when playing really fast stuff? raking or alternating finger?

5. Epitaph04

Epitaph04 Always overcompensating Supporting Member

Jul 5, 2010
    SoCal
    Alternate.

gebass6 likes this.
  6. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Alternate by far. Raking only seems more efficient on the surface, but it's not.

7. FrednBass

FrednBass

Feb 24, 2012
    It's funny... I never had anybody teaching me about raking or telling me what it is (for quite sometime), but i've doing it ever since the first time i played bass, felt kindda natural.