1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

what to practice

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by White Nightman, Oct 10, 2010.

1. White Nightman

White Nightman

Oct 10, 2010
    I'm a new bassist and dont know what to practice or work on.

2. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
    * learn all the fretboard
    * learn mayor and minor scales
    * Once you learn scales its easy to learn chords ( arpeggios)
    * In order to not get boring learning only scales and chords, learn few easy tunes: many songs from U2, ACDC.

I would recommend to get a good teacher as soon as you can, it is well spent money.

3. White Nightman

White Nightman

Oct 10, 2010
    the problem there is I'm a college student and dont have the money

4. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
  5. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
  6. Beersurgeon

Beersurgeon

Jul 16, 2010
    Denver
    +1
    I started with studybass.com before moving on to lessons. I still use a lot of material from this site for daily practice.

7. Mr wiggl3s

Mr wiggl3s Inactive

Feb 27, 2009
    Bismarck
    doesn't your college have programs?

8. White Nightman

White Nightman

Oct 10, 2010
    Thx for all the feed back and info, and I havent found a program on campus I can take

9. crow01

crow01

Sep 1, 2008
    chicago
    pick a record that you like and look up the tabs on bassmasta. Then play the tab along the songs.

Something easy: The Ramones, Nirvana

Don't jump into something too complicated or you will get discouraged.

Go around playing all type of music until your fingers get calluses so they don't hurt so much by pressing on them strings.

10. +1

Even as a starter, I wouldn't want to become dependant on tabs.