1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

When do you know ?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bagnonbass, Apr 30, 2010.

1. bagnonbass

bagnonbass

Aug 4, 2009
    DC-Maryland
    If your ready to start giging ? Are you EVER ready ? or do you get better by giging ? My sister thinks I'm ready to start playing with a band she's in , the band is pretty major in and outside my area . The thing is , i've been learning on my own for 2 years and I dont know if I'm there yet . I hear people say the best way to get better is to play with a band , so is this the way most of you pros got started , by jumping out there or did you take baby steps?

2. kreider204

kreider204

Nov 29, 2008
    I've played with two serious gigging bands in my life. One was about 5 months after I started playing. The other was a few years later. Both coincided with my making HUGE leaps forward in playing ability.

Go for it - you won't regret it.

3. N.F.A.

N.F.A.

Jun 25, 2009
    In a blue funk
    Might as well jump.... go ahead and jump

4. they can kill you ,but they probably won't eat you....seriously tho' worst case you have to retreat to the woodshed a spell......besides what better motivation than playing catch up

5. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    Jim's right. It sounds like a good opportunity. Your sister has probably explained your situation to the band, and they are willing to give you a chance, which probably means that they will be supportive as you gain experience. If it is a well run band, then they will have more to gain from supporting your success than from kicking your arse.

And you definitely get better by gigging.