Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

When playing Rush - YYZ

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Figjam, Oct 19, 2003.

1. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I started playing Rush- YYZ yesterday. For the main riffs, where do you like to put your thumb. I usually (for other songs) rest it on the neck pickup, but then the stretch to the G string gets kinda anoying, so lately ive been resting it on the E string, inbetween the 2 pickups.

2. for the easier parts i just put my thumb on the neck pickup but when it goes into the tougher parts i find it easier to rest my thumb on the neck>:cool:

3. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Do you mean, around the last fret? I suppose that would work, because it is generally played on strings 1 and 2, so the tension wont be too loose to go fast.

4. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    My thumb is on my pick. ;)

I've been trying to play YYZ (on & off) for years & I can never get it right. I leave SOOOO much out cause I know I can't play it 1/4 as good as The Master.

On the occasions I do play with my fingers, I usually place my thumb on ont of the pickups (when playng on the E String. If I play the A, D or G, I rest my thumb on the string above it.

Example:
    If I'm playing on the G string, my thumb is anchored on the A or D string depending on what I'm playing.

5. Fliptrique

Fliptrique

Jul 22, 2002
    Szczecin, Poland
    Endorsing Artist: Mayones Guitars&Basses, Taurus Amplification
    floating thumb is good kung-fu!

6. Do you mean, around the last fret?

Yes, that is exactly what I meant.

7. squire_pwr

squire_pwr

Apr 15, 2003
    San Diego, CA.