1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where to test drive warwicks?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kdjord, Apr 28, 2010.

1. kdjord

kdjord

Apr 29, 2006
    Alright fellas, I am graduating from college in one week! And my graduation gift is a new bass. I've been playing for 4 years. Started out as a 6-stringer, now I reside on bass almost exclusively. Just recorded an album (with my ibanez 505 unfortunately).

I *think* I want a Wick based on the tones I have heard in various recordings and the sight of one seems to jive with what I'm looking for.

The problem is, where the hell do you find these things to try them out? The local guitar centers (I don't buy from them anymore anyway) only have some korean corvettes.

I would prefer to play a wide selection of warwicks to get a feel for what works for me.

Unfortunately, it seems that may not be possible.

What should I do? Is their quality high enough that I could order one online and send it back if it doesn't knock my socks off?

Personally, I like the tones coming from the corvette zebrano $$, corvette $$, streamer $$, maybe thumb BO (worried about ergonomics. I'm 6'5")

I'm also looking into lakland 55-94s, but they seem to be carbon copy industrial basses. Necks feel damn good to me from what I remember, however.

Any ideas?

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    You ask where to look for a bass, and don't tell us where you are?

3. your best bet is a guitar center

4. Thunder Pulse

Thunder Pulse

May 12, 2007
    Yeah, what college are you graduating from? :eek:

Just go to their website and do a dealer search.

5. if you're in NY I believe Warwick has a showroom - never been, but always wanted to go . . . I see the address in their ads in BP

6. Time Consumer

Time Consumer

Jan 27, 2008
    Joliet Ill.