1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

which Hartke for practice amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by spats, Sep 27, 2008.

1. Hi folks,
    I started playing bass in the late 60's with vox ac50's & marshall 100 amps. Not yesterday huh?
    I know nothing about non-valve amps but I don't think that I've much choice but to go for a transistorised model.
    I've been told that the Hartke range A35 - A100 are good combos, as well as the Kickbacks.
    As a general rule, in the old days, the bigger the speaker & the more powerfull the amp gave the better quality sound. Is this still the case?
    I imagine that the 10", 12" & 15" speakers give an entirely different sound, and in some ways perhaps the 10" is the better choice for "relatively" low volume home use??
    Sooo, what would do justice to my EB3 and be good for blues/rock?
    Is the kickback version superior to the A35,A60,A100 range?
    Thanks to anybody with the patience to help:)

2. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2007
    Toronto Ontario Canada