Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Which MP3 Bit Rate?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Big Benner, Oct 17, 2005.

1. I'm just learning about MP3s. I work on both MAC and PC so I think the standard MP3 format is what I'm going to use for easy flipping back and forth (no Windows Media or Apple Lossless files for me) and I just bought a 250 gig Firewire & USB 2 combo drive and I want to start ripping using the MAC and iTunes.

But what MP3 bit rate? Apple iTunes has:

"Good Quality" at 128kbps, joint stereo

"High Quality" at 160kbps, joint stereo

"Higher Quality" at 192kbps, normal stereo

... and then a bunch of custom settings that you can play with.

If I'm planning on DJ'ing with these songs through large sound systems,... will "Higher Quality" 192 kbps normal stereo be enough?

I want to use that for all my files from here but if I get enough people telling me that "Higher Quality" 192 kbps normal stereo is not enough,... well then I'll have to think some more. :)

What bit rate do you use and why? What kind of system do you play the music on?

Thanks everyone,

Benner

2. The Clap

The Clap

Jan 5, 2004
    Scottsdale, AZ
    If you're going to rip your own use some form of variable bit rate for good quality and space efficiency. 192 is OK, but if you're going to be DJing with the rips, you ought to use a higher quality.

3. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    I've seen DJs use plain-jane 128kbps mp3s (which was easy to tell as they were using Winamp) and no one seemed to care, I didn't think they sounded crappy, either. But then again, I'm not exactly an audiophile. The only thing I notice around 128kbps is that some cymbals sometimes start sounding "compressed".