Which recording software should I buy ?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by DreamJazz, Dec 15, 2003.

1. I'm looking to start recroding, I'll be doing Bass, Keyboard, Guitar, and maybe drums. But I would like a recording program that comes with a good drum machine like Reason which I have some experience with and liked very much. Is Fruityloops a good drum machine, equipped with more than just techno, and electronic drum beats ? I will mostly be doing Rock, Prog and Metal beats and want to get a convincing sound.

The local music store carries Cakewalk Home Studio, as well as Cubase. But what Program should I look at and what version, etc. so that I get a drum machine with it and the best all around features ? The guys at the music store are really no help when it comes to this.

I'm going to have to invest in the software as well as a mixer of some kind, I'm looking for something cheap and effective, with a sliding graphic EQ at least 7 band. Any product suggestions for this ?

Your help is greatly appreciated,
  2. Chuck,

Are you hoping to record all these instruments together at the same time i.e. Record a band session straight onto the computer? If so then you'll need software that allows you to record simultaneously across lots of tracks and allows you to route the inputs from your soundcard to each track. The software you mentioned may do that, but it would be good to check.