Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Working on improving timing

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kragen, Jul 25, 2005.

1. kragen

kragen

Jul 4, 2005
    Bath
    I'm a new bassist - I'm learning from the bottom up and I have a problem with keeping in time with a metronome.

Rhythmicly I think im not bad - that is I can pick up and him / play the rhythm of the song while tapping my foot, and the rhythm is "right" - each not has the right relative length and when I tap my foot at (what seems to me) a constant rate, I play the notes "in time" with my foot. But when A metronome is tapping in the background, I cant seem to "lock" onto it and play in time to it.

Obviously this isnt a rare problem! :p (I merely want to illustrate that im intrested in developing timing rather than rhythm - Just in case there is a difference, I dont know if there is a difference or not).

My question is really whats the best way to go about tackling this? My current philosophy is to go through and play somehthing slowly over and over again until I get the timing right, but I'm not sure if this is actualy the ringt thing to do - obviously the aim is to play it right and in-time, but I get the feeling that all im doing is playing something so I can fret / play the right notes sequentialy without thinking - meaning I can concentrate on the rhythm.

Seeing as my aim is to bring my ability to play in time more in line with my ability to actualy play the notes, I wasnt sure if this was really the best way of improving (if it is i will hang my head, run away and get on with it... :p)